Forgot password

European Responsible Housing Awards 2016

Brussels, 14 March 2016 | Published in Energy, Urban, Economy, Social

The only Corporate Social Responsibility Awards for Public, Cooperative and Social Housing Providers will gather again socially innovative practices across Europe.

Confronted with growing economic, social and environmental challenges, more and more public, cooperative and social housing organisations are enhancing and demonstrating their capacity to innovate. Providing affordable, good quality housing and services responding to the variety of needs and thus contribute to sustainable local communities, to the residents well-being, to their quality of life and their empowerment, this is the core of responsible housing.

In 2016, public, cooperative and non-profit housing providers will be able to compete for the second edition of the European Housing Responsible Awards. Jointly organised by Housing Europe, Delphis and the International Union of Tenants, the competition showcases innovative best practices and promotes exchange of knowledge between local housing providers who promote local, social and environmental sustainability, good governance and responsible HR management.

Already in 2014, 42 housing organisations from 12 countries, and the tenants organisations have shared with more than 200 target audience participants in the first ever edition of the European Responsible Housing Awards in Brussels 70 best practices that have been gathered in a Handbook.

The 5 award categories correspond to the core elements of Corporate Social Responsibility:

  1. Economic Responsibility and Sustainability
  2. Local Social Sustainability
  3. Environmental Sustainability
  4. Good governance and fair relations with stakeholders
  5. Responsible human resources management

Key European stakeholders as Jury members will assess how the submitted “good practice” contributes to the applicant’s CSR, on the particular dimension corresponding to the entry category. 

Barbara Steenbergen, president of the jury and Head of EU office of the International Union of Tenants (IUT) is looking forward to welcoming more applications than two years ago:

“I think that everyday becomes clearer that the sector is a motor for social innovation. Backed up by housing providers, tenants’ unions and EU key stakeholders, this is not just a competition but a practical for our commitment to create social and economic returns for citizens and communities by providing affordable housing and the empowerment of residents.

Application window opens on March 14th and the deadline for participation is June 1st. The application will be filed online through the Premios Arquitectura platform. The award ceremony is going to take place in Brussels on November 23rd.

This year the Awards will be organised within the framework of the “Housing for All” campaign of Housing Europe, an invitation for cooperation at EU level between the European Union institutions, the member states, the local authorities and the housing providers with the overall aim to boost the supply of affordable homes for liveable communities. Housing Europe Secretary General, Sorcha Edwards explains that

“a key component of the campaign is knowledge sharing that will provide with examples that work well on the ground.”

Conditions for participation, assessment criteria, past winners and the link to the online application procedure can be found at